2018 Municipal Election



2018 Municipal Elections


The next Municipal Election will be Monday, October 22, 2018, in accordance with the Municipal Elections Act, 1996, as amended, of Ontario.


In the City of Elliot Lake, Municipal Elections are held for the Offices of:

Mayor (one to be elected)

City Councillors (six to be elected)

Trustee - English Language Public - Algoma District School Board (one to be elected)

Trustee - French Language Public - Conseil scolaire de district du Grand Nord de l'Ontario (one to be elected)

Trustee- English Language Catholic - Huron-Superior Catholic District School Board (two to be elected)

Trustee - French Language Catholic - Conseil scolaire de district catholique du Nouvel-Ontario (one to be elected)

The representation for school board elections are subject to change in the year of the Election based on a formula for each Board which determines representation to an elector population of the Board's jurisdiction in accordance with the Education Act of Ontario.


Generally, in order to run for an office, one must be an eligible elector for the office.

Criteria for eligibility is contained in the Municipal Elections Act, Municipal Act, and Education Act (for school board elections). For a full description of qualifications, please refer to the applicable pieces of legislation listed above.

Qualifications for offices include: residency within the municipality; or own or lease land within the municipality (or spouse or same sex partner of such person); and on Voting Day be a Canadian citizen at least 18 years of age, and not be prohibited from voting for any other reason.

Elected candidates must continue to be qualified throughout the term of office.


Nomination Day is Friday July 27, 2018 from 9:00 am until 2:00 pm. Candidates may withdraw a nomination anytime up until 2:00 pm on July 27th. Nomination papers may be filed prior to Nomination Day anytime after May 1 2018 during normal office hours of the City Clerk's Department.  In previous Election years, the nomination period begain on January 1st of an Election Year.  The recent changes to the Municial Elections Act have shortened the nomination period to May 1st through to 2PM on July 27th. 

Applications for Nomination may be obtained in the City Clerk's Department. The Nomination Forms will be available after April 1st.  The Nomination must be on the prescribed form and be accompanied by the prescribed $100 filing fee ($200 if seeking the office of Mayor) payable by cash, debit, certified cheque or money order. Candidates may only spend or raise funds for their campaign after they have filed their nomination papers.

A candidate may only run for one office, but should more than one nomination form be filed by a candidate, the last nomination filed will be deemed filed, and all previous nominations deemed withdrawn. Filing a second or more nomination also impacts on campaign funds and expenditures. Potential candidates should consult with the Clerk's Department before considering this.

Nominations are certified or rejected by the Clerk on the Monday following Nomination Day. In 2018 that will be Monday, July 30th, 2018.